Friday, December 13, 2013

The Dewey Divas and Dudes Top 5: Ron's Picks!

I keep hearing about how difficult it's been for each of my Top 5 contributors to narrow their favorites and I don't blame them. There have been so many amazing books in 2013! The next list of recommendations comes from Ron Stadnik, Print Manager at Library Bound in Waterloo. Here are his top picks:

1. The Deep Whatsis by Peter Mattei (HarperCollins)

"Mad Men meets Fight Club by way of American Psycho."

2. A Map of Tulsa by Benjamin Lytal (Penguin)

"Coming of age tale by a first time novelist; quite possibly the best reviewed book of adult fiction this year. A reminder of why I love the work I do."

3. With Charity for All by Ken Stern (Doubleday)

"An expose of the seldom scrutinized state of the charitable/non-profit sector in the U.S. An absolute must read, I just wish for a book that looked at the situation in Canada, although I sadly suspect it would be analogous."

4. Hell-Bent: Obsession, Pain and the Search for Something Like Transcendence in Competitive Yoga by Benjamin Lorr (St. Martin's Press)

"Part transformative memoir, part expose of yoga guru Bikram Choudhury, this is at its heart a look at obsession, which makes it for readers of The Orchid Thief as much as anyone that can't through the day without a downward facing dog."

5. The Circle by Dave Eggers (Knopf Canada)

"For readers of Walker Percy and fans of Christopher Hitchens, this would make a great book club pick. With apologies to Timothy Leary, I hope it’ll make inspire people to  “turn off, unplug, drop out” or at least examine the role of technology in their lives more closely."

No comments: